top of page
Search

CLIMATE STRIKE - 23.09.22

By Rona Jamieson



On Friday the 23rd of September, I attended the climate strike outside the Leeds Town Hall organised by Youth 4 Climate Leeds and Black Lives Matter Leeds. I was invited along to give a speech, and as this was my first climate strike, I had no idea what to expect. I was very impressed with how well organised everything was and how inclusive the whole strike was.

The strike was a peaceful affair with many different speakers from so many different backgrounds with empowering speeches surrounding a wide range of topics - from the desperate need for intersectionality in the climate strike scene; how global warming disproportionately affects the global south; trans rights and climate rights, and all centring around the importance of putting young people at the front of this fight. I was honoured to be involved in such an event as it was such an inspiring atmosphere to be a part of and really welcoming. The main thing that stuck with me was the intersectionality of all the speakers as well as the allyship that they all showed. As this event was in collaboration with Black Lives Matter Leeds, all speakers not only shouted about the unlawful killing of 24 year-old Chris Kaba but also Mahsa Amini.


I was the last to speak up but I was glad

as all the other speakers were so inspiring. I spoke about our need to protect our right to protest as it is now, as our government is desperately trying their hardest to take away our freedom of speech. This prompted some interesting discussions with other members of the strike afterwards which meant that I came away with a renewed passion for climate justice and being more mindful about my intersectionality to fight for as many people as possible.


For more info on...

Youth 4 Climate Leeds: @youth4climate_leeds on Instagram

Black Lives Matter Leeds: @blm_leeds on Instagram





Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page